Be Still, My Soul. The Lord is on Your Side.

Sleep is a big deal.  It can be the difference between the best and worst day, sanity and insanity, effectiveness and pointlessness.  I haven’t been sleeping.  I’m unemployed, so I don’t have to get up for anything, and to make up for my fitful sleep, I have been laying in bed several hours after sunrise.  But last night I decided I needed to get up before the sun today.

There is something about watching the sun come up.  I love it.  Maybe it’s just because I associate early rising with productivity and usefulness (two things I have come to deeply miss), but I think it is more than that.  When it is dark, I have yet to feel the pressure of the day.

It’s the difference between starting my day with Jesus, or starting it with me.

This morning, during my date with God, I re-found this song on an album I wore out last year.  What wonderful words: The Lord is on your side.

Peace.  Peace is the necessary response to my situation.  Be still, my soul.  The Lord is on your side.  Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

